IN STUDIO with Mellissa Read-Devine


1) Who is Mellissa Read-Devine?

British born and bred but since I’ve been in Australia for over 40 years I reckon I qualify to be Australian. Brought up on sci fi and fantasy – I think my childhood & early adulthood was spent totally in books when I wasnt daydreaming or drawing. Living quite a conservative life as a wife & mother of 2 young adults and I have a very strong personal faith in God (Christian).

2) Explain your current body of work?

Bright impressionistic acrylic paintings of my local landscape. The more trees and rocks the better. I love the process of painting – a dance of brushstrokes across a large canvas, representing light, movement and joy.

3) If you can pick one artist as an inspiration, who would it be and why?

Aaargh, one? really?

It would have to be Camille Pissaro, not only important in impressionism, but also for a short time a Neo Impressionist (pointilism). He also was a well respected all round good guy – One critic, the poet Armand Silvestre, credited Pissarro with being “basically the inventor of this [Impressionist] painting”. In the Impressionist exhibit of 1876 however, art critic Albert Wolf complained in his review, “Try to make M. Pissarro understand that trees are not violet, that sky is not the color of fresh butter . . – Wikipedia

An interesting note is that Lucien Pissaro – his son was an accomplished wood engraver; a craft that I apprentice myself to in the quiet moments of my art.

4) With your own art/art practice, where would you like to be in 10 years?

I want to have won some major prizes, enough to get some value to my name as an artist. At least one successful show per year, and to earn enough money to pay for some overseas painting trips, and to be able to encourage emerging artists. “Put the money back in” I say

5) How are you finding the current art market?

Personally I have been doing quite well, I dont have too many paintings available.

There are always buyers out there – it just can be difficult to compete with all the brilliant artists out there as well.

6) Name four things, that you cannot do without in your studio?

Radio or music from the ipod when the sport is on

Mozzie Spray

A hat – I dont need one – I just feel better wearing one

One of my dogs – someone to talk to when I need to stop for a moment

7) What was the funnest thing you’ve heard someone say about your own work?

It wasnt funny – but I’ll always remember a woman telling an admirer of one of my dog linocuts, that its just a drawing and she’ll do one for her when they get home.

8) What is next on the agenda?

2012

Affordable Art Fair Melbourne in May

Gallery in Oakland CA, hosting a 3 international artists show July- sending work there but hoping to be there in person

Balmain 3 person show in August

Art Expo Sydney in September

Yes, Im a bit busy. The next solo will have to wait until 2013. Venue suggestions welcome.

9) Where can we find more about Mellissa Read-Devine?

http://www.purplenoongallery.com.au

And on Facebook, Blogger and Twitter

In studio Images and photos and all its information is the property ‘Sydney art galleries and art community’ & Mark Rowden, all content is copyrighted protected.

Be aware that the reproduction or copy, in whole or in part, of any of our property without our express permission is considered copyright infringement.

One thought on “IN STUDIO with Mellissa Read-Devine

  1. Hello Melissa, Thanks for sharing your beautiful work with us all. Great to meet another Christian in the Arts taking Aussie art far and wide. Your exhibition in Oakland sounds exciting. Are you sponsored by a gallery to do this or have you organised this yourself?

    I am based in Queensland, though born and lived in Sydney most of my life and focus mainly on portraiture and contemporary still life, using simple objects to convey spiritual meaning, such as the cup. I am a member of a Christian group of exhibiting artists called the ‘Visionaries’ based in Brisbane, using a contemporary voice for the timeless message of the gospel.

    Trying to find a gallery to represent me at present but not too easy! Have been painting for years, but not really tried to get my work further afield until now. Any advice would be appreciated, if you have any to offer!

    All the best with your upcoming shows and plans. May God continue to go before you on the journey.
    Blessings, ‘
    Victoria

Leave a Reply

